Health Center Federal Policy

Senate Passes Major Immigration Reform

Last Thursday the Senate passed the 1100+ page “Border Security, Economic Opportunity, and Immigration Modernization Act” (S.744), with a 68 to 32 bipartisan vote (official vote count can be found here).

The “Yea’s” included 14 Republican Senators:  John McCain (AZ), Lindsey Graham (SC), Marco Rubio (FL), Jeff Flake (AZ) – the four GOP members on the “Gang of Eight” – and Lamar Alexander (TN), Kelly Ayotte (NH), Jeffery Chiesa (NJ), Susan Collins (ME), Bob Corker (TN), Orrin Hatch (UT), Dean Heller (NV), John Hoeven (ND), Mark Kirk (IL), and Lisa Murkowski (AK).

You can read more about the Senate’s bill in our last blog post.

The bill now moves to the House where Speaker Boehner intends to bring it up for consideration in the next month.  Stay tuned to the blog as we provide updates on the bill’s progress and various provisions.