Health Center News, NACHC Events, Uncategorized

Health Center Leaders Honored

By Angie Stewart

Health center leaders across the nation were honored today at NACHC’s annual Community Health Institute (CHI) & EXPO in Dallas, TX.    The  national conference (read media advisory) brings together thousands of health center leaders, opinion-makers, policy experts, clinicians and consumers to dialogue on a host of health policy issues, among them health reform.  But it’s also a chance to honor the leaders in the Community Health Center Movement.  NACHC Chair of the Board Anita Monoian  presented the NACHC Lifetime Achievement Award to Jose E. Camacho, Executive Director of the Texas Association of Community Health Centers in Austin, TX; and Daisy Harris, Chief Executive Officer of the West End Medical Center in Atlanta, GA. David Reynolds, Senior Health Policy Advisor with the Office of U.S. Senator Bernard Sanders in Washington, DC, recieved the Cornell Scott Excellence in Leadership Award. Roland J. Gardner, Chief Executive Officer with Beaufort-Jasper Hampton Comprehensive Health Services in Ridgeland, SC was presented with the John Gilbert Award.

Eight other outstading health center leaders are being presented with awards at this year’s CHI. Alan Hobbs, Board Chair with the North End Community Health Center in Boston, MA is receiving the Ethel Bond Memorial Consumer Award. John Santistevan, Director of Finance and Accounting with the Salud Family Health Center in Fort Lupton, CO is being presented with the Jeffry T. Latman Leadership in Healthcare Award.

Bruce A. Johnson, President and CEO of Illinois Primary Health Care Association in Springfield, IL is being presented with the Norton Wilson State/Regional Leadership Award.  Illinois State Senator David Koehler is receiving the Aaron L. Brown Memorail Public Service Award.

Tillman Farley, MD, Director of Health Services at Salud Family Health Center in Fort Lupton, CO is being presented with the Samuel U. Rogers Achievement Award, as is James O. Taylor, MD, Chief Medical Officer of the East Boston Neighborhood Health Center in East Boston, MA.

Roland A. Goertz, MBA, Chief Executive Officer of Heart of Texas Community Health Center in Waco, TX, is to receive the Health Professions Education and Training Award. Marth Carter, Chief Executive Officer of FamilyCare Health Center in Scott Depot, WV is being presented with the Innovative Research in Primary Care Award.

All of these outstanding leaders deserve recognition as tireless footsoldiers in the Community Health Center Movement.  

*Not all award recipients were available. Pictured (left to right): Bruce A. Johnson, Roland A. Goertz, Roland J. Gardner, Tillman Farley, The Honorable David Koehler, Alan Hobbs.